Prunes vs. Metamucil vs. Vegan Diet





Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free recipe from his new HOW NOT TO DIE COOKBOOK. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.)

DESCRIPTION: The average number of bowel movements a week is compared between those eating prunes, those taking a fiber supplement, and those eating a strictly plant-based diet. Who can forget the Bristol stool scale? Even if you’ve already seen it you may want a refresher: Bristol Stool Scale (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/bristol-stool-scale/). And while we’re on the topic, here are some others on optimizing bowel function:
· Kiwifruit for Irritable Bowel Syndrome (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kiwifruit-for-irritable-bowel-syndrome/)
· Bulking Up on Antioxidants (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/bulking-up-on-antioxidants/)
· Relieving Yourself of Excess Estrogen (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/relieving-yourself-of-excess-estrogen/)
· Stool Size Matters (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/stool-size-matters/)
· Food Mass Transit (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/food-mass-transit/)
· Bowels of the Earth (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/bowels-of-the-earth/)
· Greasy Orange Rectal Leakage (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/greasy-orange-rectal-leakage/)
· Diverticulosis & Nuts (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diverticulosis-nuts/)
Prunes may also help improve the health of our skin—see Beauty Is More Than Skin Deep (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/beauty-is-more-than-skin-deep/).

In general we should try to get our nutrients from whole food, not supplements (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/some-dietary-supplements-may-be-more-than-a-waste-of-money/).

See the previous video Dried Apples, Dates, Figs or Prunes for Cholesterol? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dried-apples-dates-figs-or-prunes-for-cholesterol/) for a comparison of prunes to other dried fruit in terms of cholesterol-lowering capacity. And if you’re worried dried fruit may be too calorically dense, the next video Do Fruit & Nut Bars Cause Weight Gain? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/do-fruit-nut-bars-cause-weight-gain/) should help put your mind at ease.

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prunes-vs-metamucil-vs-vegan-diet/ and he’ll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Google+: https://plus.google.com/+NutritionfactsOrgMD
• Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/



source

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: